US President Joe Biden Heads to India for G20 Summit

US President Joe Biden is en route to India to participate in the historic G20 Summit, to be chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The trip comes with COVID-19 precautions in place, following First Lady Jill Biden’s positive test. Here are the key details of President Biden’s visit and the G20 Summit:

CDC Guidelines for Biden’s Visit

The White House has stated that President Biden will adhere to the Covid-19 guidelines set forth by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) during his visit to India for the G20 Summit.

First Lady’s Positive Test

First Lady Jill Biden, aged 72, tested positive for COVID-19 earlier this week. President Biden, aged 80, tested negative after his wife’s positive result. The First Lady is currently quarantined in Delaware and will not accompany the President to India and Vietnam.

“The President tested negative for Covid.”

Delegation Onboard

President Biden’s delegation includes top officials and advisors, such as US National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan, Deputy Chief of Staff Jen O’Malley Dillon, and Director of Oval Office operations Annie Tomasini. Others accompanying the President include Principal Deputy National Security Advisor Jon Finer, Press Secretary Karine Jean-Pierre, Director of Speechwriting Vinay Reddy, Director of Communications Ben LaBolt, Director of Scheduling and Advance Ryan Montoya, Acting Chief of Protocol Ethan Rosenzweig, NSC Coordinator for the Indo-Pacific Kurt Campbell, NSC Coordinator for Strategic Communication John Kirby, Senior Advisor for Energy and Investment Amos Hochstein, Deputy Director of Communications Herbie Ziskend, Senior Director for South Asia, National Security Council Eileen Laubacher, among others.

Agenda for the G20 Summit

President Biden is looking forward to a successful G20 Summit, where he intends to address critical global issues such as climate change and reforms of international organizations like the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund. During his visit, Biden will also welcome the African Union as a new G20 member, a move supported by world leaders.

Bilateral Meeting with PM Modi

President Biden is expected to have a bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Modi. They will review the progress made on decisions taken during Prime Minister Modi’s state visit to Washington in June. Key topics on the agenda could include Ukraine, critical and emerging technology, and agreements like the ones involving drones with General Atomics and jet engines with General Electric.

G20 Summit Sessions

The G20 Summit will include various sessions, starting with “One Earth” and “One Family.” President Biden will also participate in a Partnership for Global Infrastructure and Investment event and conclude the day with a dinner and cultural program with G20 leaders. Before departing for Hanoi, Vietnam, President Biden and G20 leaders will visit the Raj Ghat Memorial.

Focusing on Global Issues

John Kirby, White House National Security Council Coordinator for Strategic Communication, emphasized President Biden’s focus on delivering economic opportunities for developing countries and advancing key priorities like climate and technology. The President also aims to underscore the US’ commitment to the G20 as a vital forum for addressing these challenges.

“We believe that the African Union’s voice will make the G20 even stronger than it already is,” Kirby added.

G20’s Global Impact

The G20 comprises countries representing around 85 percent of the global GDP, over 75 percent of global trade, and about two-thirds of the world population. Hopes are high for a joint statement from G20 countries, although issues like the war in Ukraine can be sticking points, particularly for countries like Russia and China.

French President Emmanuel Macron, Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida, and Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva are among the leaders who have confirmed their participation in the summit. Prime Minister Modi will pass the G20 Presidency to Brazilian President Lula on September 10, with Brazil formally assuming the role on December 1.

The G20 consists of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US, and the European Union.

(This story has not been edited by Smartkhabrinews staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed – PTI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!