India Squad for ICC World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma to Lead, Pandya as Deputy

Indian captain Rohit Sharma and chairman of selectors Ajit Agarakar today announced the 15-member Indian squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, starting October 5 in India. The selection has been on expected lines, with Sharma leading the charge and Pandya named as his deputy.

While the likes of Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Siraj pick themselves, the middle-order conundrum had been the biggest talking point. A fit-again Iyer finds his place in the squad, and Suryakumar Yadav will be the backup for the middle-order spot. Ishan Kishan’s stellar form in the ODIs has not only shunted Sanju Samson out of the squad but also has made a strong case to make the playing XI ahead of Rahul.

“The squad selection was a meticulous process, and we believe this team has the right balance and firepower to excel in the World Cup,” said Rohit Sharma.

India ODI Squad for World Cup Announcement LIVE

Same as it was for the Asia Cup, India opted not to pick an off-spinner and went with three left-arm spinners Kuldeep, Jadeja, and Axar Patel. Kuldeep remains the only genuine spin-bowling option. In the pace department, Bumrah, Shami, and Siraj will be aided by seam bowling allrounders Pandya and Shardul Thakur. From the Asia Cup squad, pacer Prasidh Krishna and left-handed middle-order option Tilka Verma miss out.

Here’s India’s 15-man squad for the 50-over World Cup:

Player Role
Rohit Sharma Captain
Shubman Gill Opening Batsman
Virat Kohli Batsman
Shreyas Iyer Batsman
Ishan Kishan Wicketkeeper-Batsman
KL Rahul Wicketkeeper-Batsman
Hardik Pandya (VC) All-Rounder
Suryakumar Yadav Middle-Order Batsman
Ravindra Jadeja All-Rounder
Axar Patel All-Rounder
Shardul Thakur All-Rounder
Jasprit Bumrah Pacer
Mohammed Shami Pacer
Mohammed Siraj Pacer
Kuldeep Yadav Spinner

Here’s the #TeamIndia squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 🙌#CWC23

India’s Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Though the deadline for the participating nations to submit squad details concludes today, there is a separate window for making changes extending until September 27. It gives all the cricket boards an opportunity to make changes to the team if needed.

India will begin their campaign against Australia on October 8 in Chennai before taking on Afghanistan on October 11 in Delhi. The marquee India vs. Pakistan clash will be held at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on October 15. Rohit Sharma and Co. will hope to lift the trophy in front of the home fans as India will host the mega ICC tournament for the first time since 2011.

Being the hosts, India are touted as one of the favorites to win the tournament as the last three champions were also the host countries – 2011 – India, 2015 – Australia, and 2019 – England. India will end their league campaign on November 11.

India’s Full Schedule for ODI World Cup 2023 (All India Matches to Start at 2 pm IST)

Match Date Location
India vs Australia October 8 Chennai
India vs Afghanistan October 11 Delhi
India vs Pakistan October 15 Ahmedabad
India vs Bangladesh October 19 Pune
India vs New Zealand October 22 Dharamsala
India vs England October 29 L


India vs Qualifier 2 November 2 Mumbai
India vs South Africa November 5 Kolkata
India vs Qualifier 1 November 11 Bengaluru

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!